Hi, I’m Bret Turner, I Love Shrimp, Have We Met?

At work today, Jessica called me. I found the one spot at my entire school where I get any kind of cell phone reception.
“Bret,” she said, “tonight for date night I think we should go ALL OUT.”
Tonight is Date Night, by the way.
“Whoa,” I said, “what does that mean to you?”
“I don’t know,” she replied, “like do something fun or special or something. What does it mean to you?”
“Hmm,” I said, thinking. “I’ll have to think on it.”
“OK, you do that. Let me know if you have anything you want us to make for dinner ’cause I’m going to the store.”
“Well, definitely get some beers with a high alcohol percentage,” I said, and went back to work.

Later she called me again, as she was about to leave.

“Bret, do you like shrimp cocktail?”
“Like… shrimp with cocktail sauce?” I asked.
“Yeah.”
“Hi,” I said, “I’m Bret Turner. I LOVE SHRIMP. Have we met?”
“Oh yeah. Duh! Well, Date Night is going to be CRAZY. We might not eat until 10:00.”
“Holy crap.”
“The only thing I know for sure is we’re having shrimp cocktail. Oh, and a version of pigs in a blanket but fancy.”
“Oh like with fancy sausages?”
“That’s right, baby.”

So really, no one knows for sure what tonight has in store. But I’m pretty stoked about it.

6 responses to “Hi, I’m Bret Turner, I Love Shrimp, Have We Met?

  1. Miam, miam, miam and then Zzzzzzzzzzzzz.
    Happy weekend and engagement photoing to you both and Drew and friends.

  2. that sounds DELICIOUS! who DOESN’T love shrimp cocktail!?

  3. So in the end we had:

    – Grilled shrimp with cocktail sauce. Delicious.
    – Pigs in a blanket made with fancy lamb sausage wrapped in mustard-covered puff pastry. Fantastic.
    – A fresh corn salad. Awesome.
    – A Spanish tortilla (kind of like a frittata/omelette thing). Amazing.
    – Beer.
    – Wine.
    – Ice cream.

  4. Yum. Beer AND wine. That is always a good night.

  5. I can only imagine what went through your mind when she said “let’s go all out!” I bet it didn’t involve shrimp cockatil:)

    Sounds like a delicious night! You two are fun.

  6. holy crap. you guys really did go all out! haha!

    and please, if you can, share that lamb piggies in the mustard blanket recipe. josh freaking loves pigs in a blanket.

Leave a Reply

