Attention Everyone

Attention everyone: Jessica and I are going to be doing something, in the coming days, related to our wedding.

You read that right.

Yes, after weeks of treating our wedding like an upcoming dental appointment, we’re crawling our way back in with an actual, scheduled, wedding activity. It’s on our calendar and everything. There’s no backing out when it’s on the calendar.

This weekend, we’re going to stroll around the Berkeley Hills and Tilden Regional Park, with Drew manning the camera and a few good pals along to keep us loose, and we’re going to shoot us some engagement photos.

We’re not sure what we’re going to wear, where exactly we’re going, or even what the overall purpose of engagement photos are. I mean, what’s the deal? They seem to be a relic of times past, a little bit of an anachronism.

But that matters not. Because it’s going to be time spent with friends, with the best photographer I know, and with my gal at my side. The Berkeley Hills, where I grew up and my parents still live, are beautiful, and we’re going to try to wrap the shoot at the “magic hour,” when the light is perfect and makes everyone look freaking gorgeous. There’s something really, well, magical about shooting during that short window of time, especially with Drew – it can feel exciting, a little buzz in the air.

And it feels good to get back into it a little bit, especially because this photoshoot is designed to actually lead into a few more projects, including our invitations. Our wedding has felt neglected (it told me so) for several weeks – months, even? – and it’s a comfort to think we’re turning back towards it.

As I write this, I’m sitting at my desk at home, the day off from work, listening to some Merle Haggard. By the way, why didn’t anyone tell me to listen to Merle Haggard? I can’t believe you guys. This stuff is amazing.

Anyway, sometimes you get those moments, even when you have stresses and worries and bills to pay and meetings to keep, where you can be reminded of how good life is. I get those moments sometimes, for no particular reason.

I’m having one this morning. And I’m excited for the weekend.

Love,

Bret

 

2 responses to “Attention Everyone

  1. sounds like you’re dipping your toes back into the wedding waters! will you be sharing the photos here or should we just hound you until you cave?

    and those moments you’re talking about – i love for those joints. so awesome.

  2. This post is vintage-Bret-wonderful, with all that makes your writing unique. Merci.

Leave a Reply

