I’d Like To Call It “Fropupo,” If I May

There’s an old Halloween episode of the Simpsons where Homer buys a monkey’s paw from an old, mystical, potentially evil guy at a fair. The guy, in addition to selling odd items, also sells frozen yogurt, which he calls “Frogurt.”

In college, in the dining hall, there was a frozen yogurt machine, and everyone called it “froyo.” Every time I heard that I would politely correct whoever said it by saying, “oh, it’s actually Frogurt.” But no one seemed to agree with me, even when I referenced the Simpsons episode. I felt, and still feel, that frogurt is just simply better wordplay than froyo, which is perhaps because I am prone to portmanteaus.*

*[A portmanteau, also called a blend, is the joining of two words and thereby combining their meanings, like motel or spam.]

In any case, I bring this up because, as I make my way through life, I like to give new names to things and feelings and situations as they arise. This may help explain my glossary page on this site, populated by ridiculous expressions and terms that have come about because of my incessant need to make puns out of everything. My best man and best friend Drew knows all about this – in the past few years, our every interaction does not go longer than a few minutes without one of us making a pun about something, generally in the form of a portmanteau or a spoonerism. As I’ve mentioned perhaps too many times, we are crafting a blog of jokes that will go live at some point in the near future.

And so, as I get more and more serious about the possibility of making pulled pork for my own wedding, one of the first things that comes to mind – before questions of quantity, quality, price, logistics, and so on – is what am I gonna call it?

And in the end, it seems the only logical thing to call it is fropupo. In case it’s not painfully obvious, it comes from frozen pulled pork, and I find it sounds best when rolling the r and making it sound quasi-Italian, perhaps accompanied by a hand gesture. Try it out at home! Just don’t say it three times in front of a mirror – God help your soul if you do that.

Of course, it won’t be frozen when it’s served, but making that much pupo (see, it works without the fro) will almost certainly involve some freezing. It might be pointed out that were I to go for painful accuracy, I might be tempted to label it frotharepopu, from frozen thawed reheated pulled pork; but punnery is not an exact science, and sometimes we must forego accuracy in favor of linguistic ease and aesthetic beauty, both of which fropupo possesses and frotharepu does not.

In any case, I’ve started doing some research on the feasibility of making fropupo for 150 people, and my initial reactions are: I’m hopeful. Cautiously optimistic. Guardedly excited. Reports on this research will be forthcoming over the next few weeks and months.

We’ll see!

Have a great weekend.

10 responses to “I’d Like To Call It “Fropupo,” If I May

  1. Mary C. Jorgensen

    Here’s a comment: Bravo for taking weekend breaks, Bret, and guest poster, Jessica. Bon weekend – bisous – M.

  2. no no no no!! The froghurt guy is from the episode where Homer doesn’t have a birthday present for Bart, so he rushes out and the only place he can get a talking Krusty doll is from this weird guy, and the conversation goes something like this (ok we quote this allllllll the time):
    Weird Guy (WG): you may buy the doll
    Homer (H): that’s good!
    WG: but beware, the doll is cursed
    H: that’s bad.
    WG: but it comes with a free frozen yoghurt, which I call froghurt!
    H: that’s good!
    WG: the froghurt is also cursed.
    H: that’s bad.
    WG: but it comes with choice of three toppings!
    H: that’s good!
    WG: the topping contains >long scary chemical name<
    H: ………
    WG: ….that's bad.
    H: can I go now?

    It is pretty much the best Simpsons exchange ever, and gets adapted to many many many real life interactions/storytellings between my siblings and I. Oh and that one where with the spit roast: "it's just a little dirty it's still good, it's still good!"

    Ok Simpsons nerd, checking out.

    • That is indeed one of the very best all-time Simpsons exchanges. My personal favorite is:

      Hank: Uh, hi, Homer. What can I do for you?
      Homer: Sir, I need to know where I can get some business hammocks.
      Hank: Hammocks? My goodness, what an idea. Why didn’t I think of that? Hammocks! Homer, there’s four places. There’s the Hammock Hut, that’s on third.
      Homer: Uh-huh.
      Hank: There’s Hammocks-R-Us, that’s on third too. You got Put-Your-Butt-There?
      Homer: Mm-Hmm.
      Hank: That’s on third. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot… Matter of fact, they’re all in the same complex; it’s the hammock complex on third.
      Homer: Oh, the hammock district.
      Hank: That’s right.

      Just brilliant.

    • Oh! And thanks for the correction. I am mortified I conflated two episodes together. For shame.

      • hehe don’t worry about it, it was just bad luck that i happen to know that particular episode so well! otherwise you woulda totally gotten away with it šŸ™‚
        (i’m ashamed to admit the hammock thing sounds only vaguely familiar!)

  3. oh and good on you for going the self-catering šŸ™‚ we’re doing a similar thing… well my mum and sister are doing it for us…. but it will almost certainly involved freezing and thawing and reheating. We’re hiring people to serve it all on the day though, so none of us have to think about it. You’re doing that too, right?

  4. hahahaha!

    you’re so right about rolling the r.

    and i’m all about this fropupo! can’t wait to hear about it!

  5. Haha…in agreement with the fropupo vs. frotharepupo….good call. šŸ™‚

  6. Hi Bret,

    Usually I’m a passive reader, but I guess I’m feeling cantankerous today and would like to introduce a couple of arguments against your new word, or at least against using it IN PUBLIC.
    Firstly, I’m surprised nobody has mentioned that Fropupo does not sound appetizing! I even tried an Italian accent, like you suggested, which did improve the situation somewhat, but the word still reminded me of something I truly would not want to eat…
    In addition, Pulpo means Octopus in Spanish. This could cause some confusion and possibly stress out any Spanish-speaking guests of yours who thought you’d just made a typo and were expecting seafood instead of pork.

  7. Pingback: Reading Digest: Unpossible Edition « Dead Homer Society

Leave a Reply

