Now Is The Winner Of Our Song Giveaway!

My giveaway, sadly, has come to a close. But don’t be too sad: we have a winner. And the winner is a pretty great guy. Er, I mean person. Guy or girl. Let’s preserve the mystery just a little longer.

I plugged the numbers 1 to 16 into the ol’ random number generator – despite the fact that a couple folks entered twice, like my dear mother, ahem – and this is what happened:

So who was commenter #5? Well, I’m glad you asked. Because it was…

GREG!

The camera loves you baby

Mr. Gregory is our lucky winner! At some point this week I will post a song I have written, performed, and recorded about him. Greg is a good friend, a huge Giants’ fan and fellow advanced-statistical-analysis nerd, a connoisseur of good beers, and plus his lovely girlfriend Cristin is one of Jessica’s bridesmaids.

And as a little teaser, this is the opening verse, which I wrote sort of off-the-cuff after determining Greg to be the winner:

palo santo
speedway stout
when you got greg
you don’t need to go out
…and he’s jogging his way into my heart

(Those first two things are delicious beers, btw). So here’s to you, Greg. You shall soon enter the pantheon of songs named after great men, like, um “Johnny B Goode” and uh… that Simon & Garfunkel song “Richard Cory.” I guess there’s also “Louie Louie” and that Gorillaz song called “Clint Eastwood.” There are a lot more songs named after women than men, it seems.

4 responses to “Now Is The Winner Of Our Song Giveaway!

  1. Woohoo! I’m so honored! I’d like to thank the Academy, my parents, Cristin, Bret, Jessica, my teammates, the whole cast and crew, Dreamworks, everyone who was there during the early years, Counting Crows, pumpkin pie… *cue music*

    But really, BT you’re the best.

  2. I can’t wait to hear it!!!

  3. The camera DOES love you Greg!

Leave a Reply

