1-2 = -fun!

I realized the other day that Jessica and I are going to have a PRE-anniversary, otherwise known as our “negative-first anniversary,” which will fall on July 28th of this summer, and helps put into perspective just how much time we have before we are bejoined in Holy Matrimony. I’ve heard of even longer engagements where the couples have had negative-second and even negative-third anniversaries. The question becomes: How do we celebrate? And what should the traditional -1st anniversary gift be? What’s “below” paper in the hierarchy of anniversary mediums?

My vote: iPads. I hope we get lots of iPads.

One nice thing about the date we chose is how close it is to our first date, which was on July 20th, nearly three years ago, when Bush 2 was still “president,” the economy wasn’t quite so bad, and I was just about convinced I’d never find a lady. Showing that we defy traditional gender roles in our relationship, Jessica has frequent trouble remembering that date, whereas I know it as well as my own birthday, or the date the A’s won their 20th game in a row in 2002 by blowing an 11-0 lead before winning 12-11 on a home run in the bottom of the 9th. I still have the ticket stub from the A’s game we went to on our first date, though I regret to say I remember nothing about the actual game, probably because I had a hot babe sitting next to me the whole time.

In any case, as we approach The Big -1, it dawns on me that we now have 437 days until we get married. That’s… a lot. I know a few human beings who haven’t lived that many days in their entire lives. There are times when I wish it were happening sooner, for a variety of reasons – for instance, the fear that people will “get over” the excitement of it all and we will begin to bore them with the minutiae of our wedding planning; the fear that “slow and steady wins the race” is a lesser approach to the “yank the Band-Aid” method; and the simple, child-on-Christmas-Eve feeling of wanting it now now now.

But then I sit back, put my feet up, take a puff from my corn-cob pipe, hoist my monocle up to my eye, and take a deep breath – Time is our friend. And though we’re trying to trim our guests list, not expand it, realizing that we have such ethereal friends as Time and Levelheadedness and Fiscal Responsibility is a good thing. In college, I was one of those annoying assholes who wrote his papers well in advance of their due dates, which didn’t make for a better paper but did make for a less stressful existence; and this a similar approach I’m trying to remember here. It’s not so much that I want to have the entire thing planned by next week; it’s more that with careful planning and a head start comes a certain peace of mind.

Now that I think about it, maybe we should celebrate our -1st anniversary by closing the wedding books, shutting down the blog, and taking a day off from all things wedding. Perhaps we’ll cook a fancy meal, watch Another Stakeout, crack open some wine, and get lost in our delightful little world.

6 responses to “1-2 = -fun!

  1. ayusastudyabroad

    Awww, yes, you should get lost in your delightful little world! What a wonderful time in your lives–there is such a sweetness to the engagement. Like maybe it is the planning to spend the rest of your lives together part…it is just so sweet and so grand all at the same time. So nice to ponder all the ways you are heading towards your big dreams together! So happy for you guys and this amazing time in your lives that you will never have again. The waiting is all so special!

    We had such a super time with you two the other day, by the way! You guys are THE BEST!

  2. Deborah (Debby)

    Brett, I am a long-time Berkeley friend de ta maman….and love reading your posts….in large part because you write so engagingly well.

  3. First time reader! Saw your comment on Meg’s post today at APW and loved it.

    I vote taking a day off from all things wedding. We’ve done that NUMEROUS times and it never gets old. Oh, and a fancy meal and some good wine. We don’t ever get tired of that one.

    • Thank you Angie! I was thrilled to find Meg’s blog as I was starting mine and I already love the community over there. I look forward to checking out yours as well.

      And yeah, it seems like occasional wedding-days-off will do wonders.

  4. Now the pitch, swung on, there’s a high fly, it’s way back, dead center field, THAT ONE IS GONE AND IT’S 20 CONSECUTIVE VICTORIES FOR THE OAKLAND ATHLETICS ON AN UNBELIEVABLE NIGHT WHEN THEY LOST AN 11 TO NOTHING LEAD AND NOW THEY WIN!

Leave a Reply

